Make it: Kate Middleton’s drawstring dress

Truth be told, I sometimes peruse the celeb weeklies online, and this morning I happened on a People story about how Prince Charles pays for his daughter in law’s wardrobe.

(Yes, I am rather embarrassed that I know much more about such things than about, say, the Turkey/Syrian conflict.)

That aside, I’ve always felt indifferent about the royals to somewhat annoyed with the press that they receive, particularly around W&K’s marriage, and the Diamond Jubilee.

Fans of the royals tend to be fans of Will and Kate, I think, in part because they seem so darn respectable. I have to say, I tend to like my royals scandalous (though not necessarily in the Harry-in-Nazi-costume way). If they’re going to be needlessly prominent, at least let them be amusing. I have high hopes for Fergie’s children, based on headwear alone.

I will finally admit, though, I am in many ways a fan of Kate’s clothing (minus the wedding dress. unpopular opinion, I know). And in the above-mentioned People article, I couldn’t help but notice that the drawstring dress she’s wearing is very much like a couple of sewing patterns I’ve looked at lately, Burdastyle’s Anda Dress, and Salme Patterns’ Kimono Dress.

Of course, K.Mid’s has a different arm treatment – you can see that it is gently scalloped, not unlike the Colette Macaron’s sleeve.

I had never thought much of the Burdastyle Anda dress before making the connection to K.Mid’s drawstring dream. Perhaps the difference is in the fabric. Quite rarely for Burdastyle’s own creations (which typically make their patterns look incredibly chic), the copper dress they use for Anda looks quite home ec. I’m guessing that K.Mid’s dress is a knit – likely a silk jersey – although I think it could also be a gorgeous drapey silk crepe.

A word about Salme Patterns… there are a lot of small independent pattern companies popping up and while I want to love their clothes, I often, well, don’t. I’m just not that into vintage 50s style (the wasp waist/full skirt) that I understand to be a major indie inspiration. Out of the independents, Style Arc is a major exception, and Salme, out of London (UK, not Ontario!) is too. ‘Cept Salme is soooo unsung, as far as I can tell.

What I love about Salme – they don’t look  homesewn, vintage-ey, or even close to costumey. They just look like beautiful, simple garments in exquisite fabrics – they look like the garments I covet at Aritzia and don’t want to pay for – and I’m stoked to order some patterns, grab some beautiful silks, and sew them up.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Make it: Kate Middleton’s drawstring dress

  1. Not to be a voice of negativity, well maybe I am. That Salme pattern is nice, but it really bugs me that it looks so poorly sewn. Take a look at the hem. If the designer can’t be bothered to have a sample made properly, what is the pattern like? I just had a longer look at Salme patterns, the Yoke Dress bears a strong resemblance to Colette Macaron Dress and the Minna Top is quite similar to the Sorbetto. Hmm.

    I completely agree with you about the number of people putting out vintage influenced patterns. They look lovely on some people, young and thin being prerequisites. Being neither, they are so not for me.

    I believe there was hope for Fergie’s girls at one time, I believe they have been browbeaten into appropriate Royal behaviour by the palace. They do have their mother as an example of what can happen if you behave too badly, after all. From what I have gathered from my limited (yeah, right) perusal of gossip magazines, she isn’t allowed anywhere near the Queen any more. No more Christmas at Windsor for you Fergie!

  2. hmmm i’m so used to not-good-looking hems that I just overlook them these days. Is it the unevenness that bothers you, or the puckering? With such simple designs, I’m not super concerned about whether it’s a great pattern or not – surely things like making sure the sides are same length can be very easily fixed. I still have high hopes, and plan on treating myself to some of their patterns soon.

    I just check the reviews on pattern review (only 5), and it seems that the patterns are popular – however, the instructions are sparse. Good to know.

    You’re right that the Minna shares Sorbetto’s boxpleat, but i like it’s addition of the drawstring. And it just looks less boxy. And the yoke dress is very much like Macaron, however, I’m starting to see these yoke style dresses everywhere (runway + patterns). Props to Colette for being ahead of the curve. In my perfect world, I would combine Macaron’s sleeker bottom with Salme’s yoke section. I much prefer the lower neckline and tank style. When I made my own Macaron, I lowered the neck, took off the sleeves and very slightly gathered the shoulders to narrow them a la Salme.

    I hear you on Eugenie and Beatrice, and I wonder if they are perhaps Black Sheep due to being Fergie’s children. I hope that their being blood royals and not in-laws grants them some freedom to act out.

    I hadn’t really thought of how the vintage stuff really only suits certain bodies (i.e. slim). That’s a good point. I just find myself not very interested in 40/50s style. I yearn for some late 60s mod-style jackets though! Or 50s bad girl. More Rizzo, less Sandy!

  3. Although I’ve purchased the Salme Kimono dress pattern, I have yet to sew it. No seam allowances and sparse instructions, no thank you. Burda already has that spot filled.

    I made the Anda dress. It was one of the first things I made last year when I took up sewing clothing. It’s a sack. Just no. I’ve seen a couple of cute ones but an overwhelming majority of them are sacks. The Salme Kimono dress pattern (wonky hem notwithstanding) looks like it has a bit more shape.

Leave a Reply

