In praise of Ikea fabric

Mr. Muslinette and I made an impromptu after work trip to Ikea – my favourite kind! – and for the first time ever, I took a look at the Ikea fabrics in person. I even bought a metre of their Kajastina fabric ($5.99/metre!) – initially for a nice grocery bag, but I think I’ll use it for a laptop sleeve. It’s 100% cotton, and I’d say it’s a cotton duck, due to its prominent crossweave.

I’m officially becoming an Ikea fabric convert. Most of their fabrics are medium to heavy weight canvas or duck (related to canvas) – excellent for crafting or home dec purposes, or even a jacket/trenchcoat  – and all under $10/metre. The nice thing about duck is that it doesn’t look like military-issue canvas. They have lots of prints, and a good range of solids too.

This image comes from Ikea’s website – and I have to say, they do a pretty poor job of photographing their textiles. You (or at least I)  just get no sense of scale. The fabric piece in the above photo has got to be at least 1.5 m (wide) x 3 m (long) and you can’t zoom in to see any of the detail. The small little white dots are little daisy drawings, each about 1 x 1 inch. So each of the circles we see above are about a foot in diameter. Most of the prints are much, much larger than they appear on screen.

Leave a Reply

