Dear Vogue Patterns models (Spring 2012): We’d like to see the garments, please!

New Vogues are out! And surely I’m not the only who noticed that Vogue conveniently sent out the mailer the day after the sale ended… even though the patterns were on the website during the sale…

I don’t know what’s up with Butterick/McCall’s/Vogue. Simplicity and Burda both have perfectly good models, but BMV’s? They’re consistently over-dramatic. Usually you can get a good view of the garments, but with this collection, that isn’t always the case. Take these for example…

What does this Vogue 8799 suit look like? Can't really tell...
Vogue 1282. I really want to see the front of the top...
Why are her arms covering the design feature? And why is the back view of a different model?

I have to admit, I’m glad that there’s not much in the new collection that I’m into… Lord knows I have enough sewing projects on my plate at the moment. Speaking of which, I sewed up Vogue 1247 in my Xmas rayon challis last week… I’m just waiting to get some cute pics from the boyfriend before posting them up.

Anyway, let’s start with the good!

Vogue 1289 by Pamella Roland. I’d say this is probably the best – or at least the most interesting – of the bunch. Though, as always, I look at that hair (and makeup) and wonder who is the art director on these shoots!? I’m really digging the asymmetrical pleating at the waist but am caught by the spaghetti strap… would it look better just a little thicker? Or the thicker strap just a little thinner?

Vogue 8787 – easy options. No comment on the model! I really like a lot of the views for this dress – particularly the ones with the draped neckline. If I only buy one pattern from this collection, it’s this one.

Vogue 1296 by Bellville Sassoon – and another side pose! The top is the most difficult part of the pattern, and while it looks very nice, I’m not sure – for me – that the results would be worth the tremendous effort that is surely involved. I’m fond of the skirt – it has a lovely little flounce at the back (which you can see best on the technical drawing). Looks a lot like the flounces at the back of three of Rachel Comey’s patterns, and since I have all of hers, I think I’ll give this one a pass. Or maybe not… the length is definitely more work appropriate than RC’s.

Vogue 8784 Very Easy Vogue. I’m down with a wrap dress with a not full skirt, and I like that it can be made with wovens – unlike the renowned 8379 wrap dress that I’ve never found the right almost 3 yards of knit for. But check out the modeling… bad modeling or bad art direction ?

Never mind Tyra, what would Andre Leon Talley say?

On to the decent…

Vogue 1285 by Tracy Reese. Again, model, please let me see the garment! The most distinguishing feature is the neckline, which she’s covering! I like this faux wrap dress – I just think that, for me, the little v cutouts at the neckline probably wouldn’t be worth the effort that would go into making them. Getting the points really sharp? Having the V’s come in at exactly the same space on either side? There’s some serious precision sewing there.

The … uhmmm…:

Vogue 1280 Donna Karan (top); Vogue 1286 Tracy Reese (bottom). Love that Vogue is trying to appeal to a younger non-Marcy Tilton-wearing group of sewers. Or maybe they’re going after the Marcy Tilton crew’s daughters. But these patterns… well… I pair them because both have these repeated thick strappy elements that I guess I just find a little dated. They remind me – a lot – of the Herve Leger Bandeau dresses that I associate with starlets from The Hills

And my favourite category, the things that make you go hmmmmm…

Speaking of such hmmm-making things, dude on the right looks like Andre Leon Talley!

Vogue 8793 by Katherine Tilton. Ok, I’m going to write this pretending Katherine Tilton, her family, friends, and biggest fans are reading.

I’ve seen her work in Threads, I know that she’s a tremendous seamstress and sewing educator. She has a mastery of sewing and garment construction technique that I expect I’ll never have.

And this pattern is perfectly fine – it’s a long sleeved knit top with a slightly drapey neckline.

However, I’m not sure that the single sleeve contrast fabric is, well, doing KT’s expertise justice. It seems to me to read more “quirky creative” than fashion. Not sure it makes the wearer look sophisticated or sexy, or well dressed. I had to look down at the line drawings to notice that this is a pattern I might want to buy.

But maybe my comments are baseless. I imagine KT’s market base is simply a completely different demographic than mine.

Vogue 1284 by Guy Laroche. There is just no two ways about it. This is an ugly pattern. What was the Laroche design team thinking – and what was Vogue Patterns thinking in developing it? This will be one of those patterns dredged up by sewers 10-15 years from now who will write blog posts about patterns from the 2010s and ask… who in god’s name wore that?

And saving the best for last…

Jump Pose!!!

For two collections in a row, now, Vogue has released men’s patterns! As someone who loves to sew for her man, I love this! But my god, what the hell is going on with the modeling!?

5 thoughts on “Dear Vogue Patterns models (Spring 2012): We’d like to see the garments, please!

  1. Love your thoughts! So interesting to see where tastes are similar and where they differ. I actually really love the asymmetry of the straps on the white dress… and I do like the strap detail on the black one, but agree TOTALLY that the print one looks very Herve Leger in a dated sort of way. Also, it kind of looks almost vulgar in the front and yet frumpy in the back? (Well, as frumpy as a bandeau dress can be… )

    I also totally agree about the photography, the immediate thought is, “what are you hiding?” At best it’s just sloppy or a misjudgement of what their target market wants!

  2. While I like some of the patterns you don’t, I agree that the pictures are crazy. I wish they would be more cognizant of the fabrics they are picking for the samples so we could actually see the lines of the garment, and actually pose in a way that allows us to see the whole thing.

  3. @ms.m: i think lots of people really like the black dress. Maybe i’ll just have to see a few made up! In the photo, with the styling, t just looks a bit granville street to me. And I like the asymmetrical straps, but I’m looking at the thick one and thinking that there’s a lot of fabric pleated up there. It’d take some skills to get that looking nice and flat.

    @pnp: so we won’t see you rocking any of the AKO or Koos patterns anytime soon? 😉

    @Allison: Word! We want to see the lines so that we can imagine what the pattern would look like in different fabrics. I totally couldn’t tell from the photo that 1287 (dkny) has a dozen pleats at the waist! Maybe if I make any of the patterns from this collection, I’ll copy the poses from the envelope photographs! ‘This suit looks awesome when doing a broken down doll pose!’

  4. I so totally agree with your thoughts on the models! I find myself checking out the illustrations on the back of the envelopes to have a clear picture of what the garment really looks like. Hopefully, the people in charge are reading this.

Leave a Reply

