Lesson learned: you can only make bias tape out of fabric that presses well

Things that are self-evident to everyone except me: if a fabric doesn’t press well, it won’t make good bias tape.

I was trying to make some tape last night out of some poly charmeuse scraps for my next project – the Vogue 1170 Rachel Comey skirt.

Baby has not got back!

The pattern calls for a hong kong style finish on all of the seams, and I strangely loved doing them on my 1247 skirt (review coming soon!). I particularly like flipping up my hem and seeing this lovely contrast tape! Pretty on the inside!

As soon as I started cutting up the poly charmeuse, I remembered how much I dislike sewing with it. I was having visions of tossing every last piece of poly charmeuse I have misguidedly purchased in the last couple of years.

And yet I let myself get to the bias tape pressing stage before realizing – this stuff just doesn’t press. It doesn’t do much of anything that you want it to do. There’s a reason it’s been referred to as Satan’s own fabric!

I’ve been holding on to the pieces in my stash, thinking, they might be good for a pocket, or bias tape, or muslins. Now, I might do a what not to wear style intervention on myself, and ceremonially dump them into the bin.

2 thoughts on “Lesson learned: you can only make bias tape out of fabric that presses well

Leave a Reply

